DIY: Making Harpy Feet

Good day fellow nerds and more. Welcome to todays DIY about how to make some costume bird feet. These ones I made for a harpy but they can represent any avian feet or with a few tweaks some reptilian feet.

So to begin, what you will need for these feet.

  • 1 inch Foam
  • Old boots
  • 2, 1 1/2 yards of skin material and anything looking like scales. I used a very silvery fabric that was rough to the touch.
  • 1/2 yard of 2 inch fur fabric
  • 1/2 a pound of oven back clay
  • Glue gun + plenty of glue sticks

To start:

You will first cut off the heels to your boots. 1235993_406965116070294_133669286_n.jpg

Step 2:

You will need to start sculpting the foam.

bcooke_harpy_feet_01-300x225.jpg
Breanna Cooke Blog picture of her own harpy feet.

You want to glue two 1 inch pieces of foam and then sculpt 6 different fingers to the desired size.

Step 3:

Glue on your “fingers” then start adding strips of foam around them to build up and flesh out the feet.

Something I did differently that is not shown in this picture is I laid individual strips of foam to lift certain area’s. These area’s will later be covered in the scale material and painted with shadowing detail.

Step 4

1233355_406935942739878_992545567_n.jpgThis is where the feet start looking like feet. This is a bit different from how I believe others would do it but, anyways. I started by laying down my black fabric. I did the lay and cut method which i think makes for a cleaner finished result. I greatly recommend this method because of the added foam strips, you can lay and tuck to get a clean seamless fit.  Once the first layer dried and the feet looked  like it had a layer of skin, I laid out the “scale” fabric and had it cover where i believe the scales would cover.  I just eye balled this till it looked good to my liking.

Step 5

This is an easy step where I just cut some holes in the toes, sculpted then baked the claws and hot glued them into the ends of the toes.

Step 61234861_406965129403626_20352896_n.jpg

Last but not least I finished off the rest of the
boot with the fur.  I just cut a huge triangle
out and laid it up against the”foot”connecting the fur in the front.

To polish off the look I just painted with some black paint inside  the ridges to give them a very shadowed look.

Extra’s

Depending on the look you are going for you can add another finger to the side of the boot. This will create the more bird like illusion.

Thank you for stopping by. Don’t forget to check out our previous post.

970110_10200581709757868_2040183518_n.jpg

If you have any questions, comments or requests please contact me via Noexlupus@yahoo.com. Remember to sign up for our emailing list to get all the first jumps on tib bits, give away opportunities, new items, raffles and more. Thank you for stopping by and take care.

Leave a Reply

